Are you ready to take the certification exam? Have you studied the appropriate materials? Do you know which exam or exams you need to become certified or licensed? Are you 18 or older? If so, you may continue reading about how to sign up for exams. All exams are given by the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets. To take any of these exams, you must register by contacting the Certification & Training coordinator at least a week (7 days) in advance at 802.828.3479
• All exams are CLOSED BOOK
• Please bring a calculator
• Please bring a current, state-issued, picture ID (required)
There is no cost to sit for (take) exams, however there are re-take fees for failed exams and fees for obtaining certification are required. For individuals that fail exams, a $25 re-take exam fee will be assessed.
Exam Re-takes: An individual that fails (score of less than 75%) an exam can re-take it, but there are waiting periods. A first failure has a one week waiting period; a second failure of the same exam has a 28-day waiting period; a a third failure of the same exam has a one year (365 day) waiting period. Retake fees are required at each re-take exam. Passing scores of exams are valid for 365 days.
Indoor Pesticide Exam COVID-19 Protocols
The Public Health Agricultural Resource Management (PHARM) division of Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food, & Markets (VAAFM) proctors pesticide applicator exams throughout the State every year. Prior to Covid-19, exam sessions were scheduled every Wednesday in Montpelier; the first Monday of every month in Rutland; the second Wednesday of every month in Derby; and the first Thursday of every month in Brattleboro, and Saint Johnsbury and alternating first Thursdays in Saint Albans and Williston.
All exam sessions ceased since Governor Scott implemented Addendum 6 to Executive Order 01-20 directing all Vermonters, except critical services, to stay at home unless essential reasons require leaving home.
The Agency of Commerce and Community Development (ACCD) identified many essential services that could continue to operate outside of the home, provided those entities developed strategies, procedures, and practices designed to comply with the strict guidance for social distancing provided by Center for Disease Control (CDC) and the Vermont Department of Health (VDH). Some of the essential services include individuals or businesses that must use pesticides to protect crops, human health, or to maintain a pesticide applicator certificate in order to comply with regulations that correspond to agricultural pesticide use.
During the spring and summer, exams were offered outside in parking lots and on picnic tables in strategic locations across the state to meet the demand for pesticide applicator exams. Beginning in October, exams will be moved indoors due to the change of weather, for the foreseeable future.
Please see the exam schedule here.
- DHR Training Facility at the College of Fine Arts Campus - CAPS (Center for Achievement in Public Service). 32 College Street, Montpelier, room #209.
- Asa Bloomer State Office Building, 88 Merchants Row, Rutland – 2nd Floor Conference Room.
- Emory Hebard State Office Building, 100 Main Street, Newport – conference room #250.
- Vermont Agriculture and Environmental Laboratory (VAEL), 163 Admin Drive, Randolph Center - Parking Lot.
- Vermont Agency of Agriculture Conference Room, 94 Harvest Lane, 2nd Floor Conference Room.
- 870 US Route 5, East Dummerston - Parking lot behind the building.
Requirements for pesticide applicator exam takers
- Test takers should register for exams at least a week in advance by contacting Annie Macmillan, the Pesticide Certification and Training Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org or 802-828-3479.
- A maximum of 5 people will be allowed to register per site. There will be no waitlist. Plan ahead accordingly.
- All examinees are required to bring their own pencil and approved calculator, -cell phone calculators are not permitted.
- All examinees are required to have and wear a mask before entering the test taking facility and must always leave them on in facility. They will also have their temperature taken before entering the facility. PHARM staff have the right to refuse examination to any examinee that does not adhere to this rule.
- The exam proctor has the right to refuse or terminate exam administration should any of the protocols mentioned above not be followed by the test taker.
- Prepaying by check is not permitted. Exam proctors will grade exams and notify test takers of their results. An invoice will be sent electronically to the test taker or their employer for payment submission upon test results.
- Exams will not be graded onsite. Once graded, examinees will be notified via telephone or email of their results, and applicator forms or links to forms will be provided.
- If an exam taker does not pass the exam, they will not be prioritized for a re-take, and could have had to wait several weeks/months to retake.
This plan allows individual regional PHARM staff and field agents to proctor exams regularly but minimizes examinee numbers at any one location, which in turn, reduces the number of potential interactions while allowing: essential services to continue their food production and crop protection; provide protective services to other essential service providers; comply with state and federal regulations; and provide general health related insect-disease vector protection.