The Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets will withdraw its U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) approved Hemp Production Plan as of December 31, 2022. In order to cultivate hemp in 2023 in compliance with federal law, an individual will be required to register with USDA.
The Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets’ Hemp Program is no longer accepting registrations to either grow or process hemp in the state of Vermont. Individuals that would like to grow hemp in 2023 must apply to the USDA. Prior to registering individuals must first create an account in the Hemp eManagement Platform (HeMP). A user guide for producers will help producers navigate the federal registration system. If producers have questions about hemp production in 2023, contact USDA at, FarmBill.Hemp@usda.gov.
A criminal history report from the Federal Bureau of Investigation remains a requirement for registration. Criminal history reports must be dated no greater than 60 days before application submission date. For information on how to obtain a criminal history report, please go to https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks.
The Vermont Cannabis Quality Control Program is now administered by the Cannabis Control Board. To learn more about becoming a certified laboratory please contact the Cannabis Control Board.
The Cannabis Control Board also establishes contaminant action limits for cannabis and hemp.
Industrial hemp or hemp is the Cannabis sativa L. plant including all parts of the plant, whether growing or not, with a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol [THC] concentration of not more than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis. In Vermont, hemp is considered an “agricultural product” when grown under registration with the Domestic Hemp Production Program, USDA, AMS. Cannabis sativa L. with a delta- 9 THC concentration greater than 0.3 percent on a dry weight basis is not hemp and is not an agricultural product.