Information concerning unsolicited seeds can be found here.
This program provides for the sampling, analysis and testing of seeds sold in the state. The purpose of the inspection and analysis is to ensure seed purchasers are receiving a product that’s germination rate and purity are as stated on the label. This program also provides for the tracking of genetically engineered and treated seeds distributed in Vermont.
Per Vermont Statute, all seeds sold in the state of Vermont, must have a label or tag on all containers. For further information on label requirements please review our Seed Label Requirements.
Tonnage is due on an annual basis. You will receive a copy of the tonnage report form with your seed dealer renewal. Tonnage is due no later than February 15th. If you have misplaced your tonnage report form you can download a blank seed tonnage form.
For agricultural seeds distributed in Vermont, an annual report must be filed with the Vermont Agency of Agriculture regarding the quantity of treated and untreated seeds. This report is due no later than February 15th. You can download a blank copy of the Agricultural Treated Seed Form.
Seeds that have been genetically engineered must be reported to the Vermont Agency of Agriculture on an annual basis. You will receive a copy of the genetically engineered seed report form with your seed dealer renewal. If you do not sell genetically engineered seeds, simply check the corresponding box on the form. This report is due no later than February 15th. If you have misplaced your form, you can download a copy of the blank genetically engineered seed report form.
Seed dealers are required to register with the Agency. The annual registration fee is $85. Seed tonnage fees are also required. The fee is $10 per ton for seeds sold in containers greater than 10 pounds.
Seed Dealer Application
The Application for Registration of Seeds is used to register manufacturers or processors that distribute seeds in the state of Vermont. Please use this application for new registration only. In November each year we generate a computerized renewal form that will be mailed to you. Please do not use this application to renew your registration.
If you have questions call 802-828-5050 or email Lisa.Fantelli@Vermont.gov
Related Seed Rules and Regulations