Pet Food means any commercial feed prepared and distributed for consumption by pets (any domesticated animal normally maintained in or near the household of the owner). Specialty pet food means any commercial feed prepared and distributed for consumption by specialty pet (any domesticated animal pet normally maintained in a tank or cage). This program provides for the registration, inspection and analysis of all pet food products sold in Vermont.
Pet Food Labels
Per Vermont Statute, all pet foods and treats sold in the state of Vermont must be registered with proper labeling. Please review our Feed Product Label Registration Guidelines to make sure your label is compliant. You can find samples of acceptable feed labels:
One of the label requirements is a guaranteed analysis for protein, fat, fiber and moisture. You can have those tests done at our lab in Randolph. For more information, contact them directly.
Pet Food Sample Reports
The purpose of inspection and analysis is to ensure the pet feed users are receiving a product that meets the nutritional guarantee specified by the labeling. Penalties may be assessed to manufacturers for products that are deficient. Violations are set at $50.00 for each deficiency found. The penalty can be increased for repeat violations. All penalties are paid to the Agency.
Pet Food Fees
Commercial pet food manufacturers and dealers are required to register their commercial products with the Agency. The annual registration fee is $105 per product. There is no tonnage fee associated with pet food.
Pet Food - Applications & Forms
The Application for Registration of Commercial Feeding Stuffs is used to register pet food and commercial feed products. Please use this application for new products or products that you have changed the product name, company name on the label, guarantee or ingredients. Please do not use this application to renew products. In March of each year we generate a computerized renewal form that lists all the products that you need to renew.
Dosage Form Animal Health Products
With the passage of S102, dosage form animal health products will need to be registered with the state of Vermont. The registeration fee will be $35 per product. More information is coming soon.
For general questions the consult Association of American Feed Control Officials Inc(link).
If you would like to know if a pet food is registered in Vermont you can search our database:
For information on starting a pet treat business, visit AAFCO's pet food business website.
Related rules and regulations
Annual Feed Reports