
 
 

1 | P a g e  
 

Retail Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Weights & Measures Guide 
The Weights & Measures Section of the Vermont Agency of Agriculture Food & Markets (VAAFM) has the responsibility to 
regulate weights and measures, and weighing and commercial measuring devices in the state, pursuant 9 V.S.A. § 2631 & 2651, 
Commerce and Trade. 
 
This document is designed to assist and inform businesses as they enter the electric vehicle charging market by clearly 
establishing expectations of this new market as it applies to Vermont Weights & Measures (W&M) requirements. To ensure that 
Vermont businesses and consumers work in a fair and reliable market, regulated equipment must meet applicable legal standards, 
including method of sale. 
 
The W&M Program will be licensing, testing, and inspecting electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) meters used commercially 
and available to the public, but not those owned, maintained, and used by a public utility. Devices where electricity is supplied 
for free and there are no related costs to the consumer will not be considered “commercial” as no transaction is taking place for 
charging the vehicle, so those devices will not currently be licensed, tested, or inspected by the W&M Program.  
 
Method of Sale 
All electrical energy sold at retail as vehicle fuel must be sold by the kilowatt-hour (kWh), as required by NIST Handbook 130. 
Unit price for electricity must be displayed by the whole cent ($0.32) or tenth of one cent ($0.319). 
 
In addition to the fee for electrical energy, fees may be assessed for other services, such as parking. Any additional charges can 
be fixed or based on time. All fees must be displayed to the consumer before the consumer elects to purchase the services. 
 
Selecting a Device 
Devices must be selected with the intended use in mind.   
 
All EVSEs used commercially and available to the public must be “Legal for Trade” and comply with all the requirements in NIST 
Handbook 44, except those devices owned, maintained, and used by a public utility. As of July 1, 2024, all new commercial 
weighing and measuring devices placed into service in Vermont must have a National Type Evaluation Program (NTEP) Certificate 
of Conformance (CC), this includes all new EVSE equipment. A list of all equipment that complies with this requirement can be 
found on the NTEP CC Database. 
 
These devices will have a nomenclature plate containing the following information:  

• Make  
• Model  
• Serial Number  
• Voltage and Type of Current 
• Maximum Current Deliverable 
• Temperature Limits 
• Minimum Measured Quantity 
• NTEP CC Number 

 
Commercial EVSEs not available to the public will not currently be licensed by the W&M program. These devices must have a 
means (electronic or physical) to prevent general public access. Additionally, these devices should not appear on any apps which 
help members of the public find and/or pay for EVSE services.  
 
 

Example nomenclature plate 

https://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/09/073
https://www.nist.gov/pml/owm/nist-handbook-130-current-edition
https://www.nist.gov/pml/owm/nist-handbook-44-current-edition
https://www.nist.gov/pml/owm/nist-handbook-44-current-edition
https://www.ncwm.com/ntep-certificates
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Practical Examples 
If you own a multi-family dwelling and install EVSEs for exclusive use by your tenants, then the devices do not currently need to 
be licensed with the W&M Program requirements. Even when EVSE is not available to the public, it is prudent to purchase and/or 
operate devices that meet NTEP and NIST Handbook 44 requirements. 
 
If you have a home EVSE and allow members of the public to come to your home through an app such as PlugShare or EV Match 
and charge fees for this charging, then your device must comply with the NTEP and NIST Handbook 44 requirements. These 
devices need to be licensed with the W&M Program and these devices will be subject to testing by the W&M Program. 
 
Types of EVSEs 
EVSE units are categorized by the power supplied and speed at which 
they can charge a vehicle. Level 1 and level 2 charging are the 
equivalent of plugging a vehicle into regular home wall outlets (120V) 
and larger home outlets (240V), respectively. Level 3 charging (also 
referred to as “DC Fast”) uses direct current at higher voltages (up to 
1000V) to charge the vehicle quicker. 
 
Installation of Commercial EVSEs Available to the 
Public 
After January 1, 2024 all commercial EVSE available to the public must be placed into 
service by a service person who is registered with the W&M Program at VAAFM. For 
more information on what is required of a registered service person or how to become 
one, see the Vermont W&M Service Persons Guide. All companies that manufacture 
EVSE make commercial and noncommercial equipment, so make sure you ask the 
installer/manufacturer if the device meets all these requirements if you intend to charge 
for use of EVSE available to the public.  
 
 
 

Level Power  Speed of Charge 
1 AC Adds 3 to 5 miles of range per 

hour of charging 
2 AC Adds 20 to 30 mile of range per 

hour of charging 
3 DC Charges battery to 80% of Range 

in 20 minutes 
AC: Alternating Current                                           DC: Direct Current 

STATE OF VERMONT 

CONTACT INFORMATION 
Marc Paquette 
Weights & Measures Chief 
116 State Street 
Montpelier, VT 05620 
802-793-6744 
802-828-2426 
marc.paquette@vermont.gov 

https://www.nist.gov/pml/owm/nist-handbook-44-current-edition
https://agriculture.vermont.gov/dealer-service-providers
mailto:marc.paquette@vermont.gov
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