

Seed Program

The Vermont Agency of Agriculture Food and Markets (VAAFM)'s Seed Program has authority over all seed sold within or into the state of Vermont per Vermont Statute Title 6, Chapter 35: Seeds, enabling the Agency to register seed distributors and regulate seed products. This is a consumer protection law seed to ensure distributors label seed packages appropriately, seeds meet proper germination rates, purity standards and are free from weed seed as set forth in Vermont Seed Laws and the Vermont Seed Rule.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who is required to register as a Seed Distributor in the state of Vermont?

Anyone who purchases, repackages, and sells agricultural, vegetable or flower seed must apply for registration in the state of Vermont. The annual base registration fee is \$85 for new registrations and renewals. Seed tonnage fees are assessed annually based on reporting- \$10 per ton for seeds sold in containers greater than 10 pounds. To access the Registration Form, click HERE.

What are the labeling requirements for seeds sold in Vermont?

All seed labels must have the following information: the name of each kind and variety of seed in the package, a lot number or other similar unique identification, the name and address of the distributor, the percent of germination and the calendar month and year of the test, (except for vegetable and flower seeds for home gardens, which may state the year for which the seeds were packaged and the "sell by" year). To access the details on Vermont's seed labeling requirements, click HERE.

What are the annual requirements for Seed Distributors?

The seed dealer registrations are valid from January 1 through December 31. Renewals must be completed prior to the end of this period to avoid late fees. Tonnage is due no later than January 15th. To access the Seed Tonnage Form, click HERE.

For agricultural seeds distributed in Vermont, an annual report must be filed with the Vermont Agency of Agriculture regarding the quantity of treated and untreated seeds sold in Vermont. This report must be filed by <u>all</u> distributors and is due no later than February 15th. To access the Agricultural Treated Seed Report Form, click HERE.

For seeds that have been genetically engineered, an annual report must be filed with the Vermont Agency of Agriculture on an annual basis. This report must be filed by <u>all</u> distributors and is due no later than February 15th. To access the Genetically Engineered Seed Report Form, click HERE.

Additional Resources:

- 6 VSA Chapter 35 Vermont Seed Laws
- Vermont Seed Rule