
Applicant Name:     Business Name: 
Mailing Address:     Physical Address: 
City, State, Zip:     City, State, Zip: 
Contact Person:     E-Mail: 
Telephone:    

 

 
 AGENCY OF AGRICULTURE, FOOD & MARKETS  

APPLICATION FOR RETAIL LICENSE 
 

   
   

  
 
   

 
      

      Read and initial all statements and sign application. The application will be returned if all areas are not initialed or signed. 
Please Initial:     By signing this license, I hereby agree that I will comply with the applicable sections of the Vermont Weights and 

Measures Law regarding the operation of weighing and measuring devices. 
 

Please Initial:     I hereby certify that I am in good standing with respect to any obligations for child support and, under the pains and 
penalties of perjury, that I am in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with, a plan approved by the 
Commissioner of Taxes to pay any and all taxes due to the state of Vermont as of the date of this application. 

 
 

Date:     Signature:     
 

Please remit payment to: VERMONT AGENCY OF AGRICULTURE, FOOD & MARKETS 

BUSINESS OFFICE/ L&R 
    116 STATE STREET 

MONTPELIER VT 05620-2901 
 
 

The State of Vermont is an Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer and Provider 

RETAIL – WEIGHTS & MEASURES DEVICES: No. of Units  Fee Schedule  Amount Paid 
(Check Explanations Sheet for Definitions and Exemptions) 

 
Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s)    $25 per Meter  

 
Other Meter(s)    $25 per Meter         

(kerosene, rope, etc.) 
Small Scale(s)    $10 per Scale  

(0 – 100 lb. capacity) 
Retail Price Scanning Point    $10 per Scanning Point  
 (Exempt if 2 or fewer scanning points) 
 

 RETAIL – COMMODITIES CHECK ALL 
(Check Explanations Sheet for Definitions) THAT APPLY  

 
Class C Pesticides [    ]         $25 per Store 

(flea collars, ant cups, OFF, etc.) 
Ice Cream & Frozen Dessert     [     ]         $75 per Store 

(soft serve ice cream, frozen confection, slushies, etc.)                       
Milk                                                                                                        [     ]         $20 per Store                                       
 
RETAIL – MEAT 
(Check Explanations Sheet for Definitions & Size Criteria)              CHECK  

        ONLY ONE 
Pre-Packaged Meat(s)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

  [     ]  $15 per Store                                                        
  ______________ 

 
                                                                                                                               

 

Meat Processing - Small 

 
    
 
                       

                                                                                
                                
 
 
 
                               ____ 

 Meat Processing-Small                                                                                                                       

Meat Processing - Large 

                                   
  

 [     ] 
 [     ] 

 $50.00 per Store                                                            
 $100.00 per Store                                

Additional Pre-Packaged Meat for Farmers Markets   [     ]  $15.00 
  

Total Fee Enclosed 

 



RETAIL LICENSE CATEGORIES – EXPLANATIONS SHEET 
 
Retail – Weights & Measures Devices 

 
Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s) 
•  Do you have motor fuel dispenser meters (gas and/or diesel)? 

O If you own motor fuel dispenser meters, put the number under “Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s)” on the application and multiply 
               by $25 to determine the fee. There is no longer a motor fuel dispenser exemption.  

o If a distributor owns the meters, the distributor will receive the application and pay fees. 
 

Other Meter(s) 
•  If you have other meters (kerosene, rope, etc.) put the number of meters under “Other Meter(s)” and multiply by $ 25 to determine 

the fee required. 
 

Small Scale(s) 
•  If you have small scales, put the number of small scales (scales with a capacity of less than 100 pounds) that are used for direct 

sale (pre-pack scales are exempt) under “Small Scales” and multiply by $10 to determine the fee required. There is no longer a 
small scale exemption.  

 
Retail Price Scanning Point 
•  If you are a single retail unit and have 2 or fewer scanning points (separate scanners) you are exempt from licensing. We still 

request you put the number under “Retail Price Scanning Point” and write “EXEMPT” on the Amount Paid line. 
•  If you have more than 2 scanning points, put the number under “Retail Price Scanning Point” and multiply by $10 to determine 

the fee. 
 
Retail – Commodities 

 
Class “C” Pesticides 
•  If you sell Class “C” pesticides (insect spray, flea collars, repellants, etc.) and do not hold a Class “A” or “B” license, c heck the 

box and include the fee of $25 per store. 
 

Ice Cream & Frozen Dessert 
•  If you manufacture and sell your own ice cream or frozen dessert (crèmes, custard, ice milk, dairy products mix, yogurt, sher bet 

or frozen confection), check the box and include the fee of $75 per store. 
 

Milk 
•  If you sell milk, check the box and include the fee of $20 per store. 

 
Retail – Meat 

 
Pre-Packaged Meat(s) (only) 
•  Do you handle only pre-packaged meat and poultry products (this includes Slim Jims, hot dogs, bacon, etc., and home freezer 

sales)? 
•  If YES, then check the box next to the “Pre-Packaged Meat(s) (only)” under this category and include the fee of $15 per store. 
•  If NO, then continue below to the “Meat Processing” category. 
 
Meat Processing 
•  Do you process (i.e. cut meat or poultry), or package fresh meat and poultry products? 

o If the size of your meat cutting area is less than 300 square feet   OR the length of your meat display space is less than 20 
linear feet, the check the box next to “Meat Processing – Small” under this category and include the fee of $50 per store. 

o If the size of your meat cutting area is 300 square feet or greater   AND the length of your meat display space is 20 linear feet 
or greater, the check the box next to “Meat Processing – Large” under this category and include the fee of $100 per store. 

 
•  Do you handle pre-packaged meats and have a meat cutting operation? 

o If YES, then only mark the application for your   Meat Processing operation. The handling of pre-packaged meats in a meat 
cutting operation is covered by this license, and therefore, you do not need to apply for both licenses. 

Farmers’ Markets 

• Do you want to sell prepackage meat products at one or more Farmers’ Markets? If YES check ‘X’ next to Additional Pre-

Packaged Meats for Farmers’ Market This will issue two licenses, one for the location of the farm for products storage, and one to 
sell product at one or more Farmers’ market locations in the State. This is an additional fee of $15. 

 
 


