NURSERY DEALER LICENSE APPLICATION

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets, 116 State Street Montpelier, VT 05620-2901 (802) 828-2436

Fee Required: _____ (\$30.00) Less than 25,000 sq ft of Retail or Greenhouse space or ½ acre of Nursery space

(\$60.00) More than 25,000 sq ft of Retail or Greenhouse space or ¹/₂ acre of Nursery space

PART I - NURSERY DEALER INFORMATION (To be completed by all applicants)

Business Name:
Business Physical Address:
Business Mailing Address:
Contact person: Telephone:
E-Mail:
Website address for the Business:
Business Category: (Please check all that apply)
Greenhouse Nursery Chain Store Florist Garden Center
Landscape Contractor Roadside Market Interior Landscape
Plant Importation:
Does your business import plants from other states (YES) (NO)
Does your business import plants from outside the United States? (YES) (NO) If yes, then please place a check mark by all the regions of the world from which you import plants.
Canada Central America / Caribbean Middle East / No. Africa
EuropeSouth AmericaAfrica
Asia Russian Far East / Eurasian Rep Southeast Asia

PART II - NURSERY / GREENHOUSE GROWER INFORMATION

PART III B CERTIFICATION AND APPLICATION SIGNATURE

Please read and initial all statements and sign the application. The application will be returned if all areas are not initialed or signed.

(Please initial)_____: I hereby certify that I understand that all nursery stock transported into the state of Vermont for sale, distribution or installation shall be accompanied by a valid certificate of inspection, or a reasonable facsimile, or other certification from the state, which the consignment comes from or a United States government inspector stating the nursery stock is believed to be free of injurious pests or plant diseases.

(Please initial)_____: I hereby certify that I understand that there exists a quarantine against the states of Alaska, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, Washington, and the District of Columbia against the importation of hemlock seedlings, nursery stock and lumber products. Hemlock seedlings and nursery stock are only admissible into the state of Vermont if they are accompanied by a state or federal certificate of inspection declaring that the said material is free from Hemlock Wooly Adelgid.

(Please initial)_____: I hereby certify that I am in good standing with respect to any obligations for child support and, under the pains and penalties of perjury, that I am in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with, a plan approved by the Commissioner of Taxes to pay any and all taxes due to the state of Vermont as of the date of this application.

Signature

Date

OFFICE USE ONLY

DEALER NUMBER

INITIAL

NURSERY DEALER LICENSE APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

The nursery dealer-licensing program is mandated by 6 V.S.A., Chapter 206, Sections 4021-4031. This law states that any business or person purchasing, selling or distributing live plants shall annually apply for and receive a nursery dealer's license from the Secretary of Agriculture. If this law does not apply to your business than please indicate so on the attached form and return it to the Agency. We will then remove you from our mailing list.

The purpose of this law is to prevent the movement of economically damaging pests such as plant pathogens, insects, mites and noxious weeds that have the potential to cause economic harm to Vermont's agricultural community and natural environment. During the earlier part of this century, several problems were imported into this country, such as: Chestnut Blight, Dutch Elm Disease, Birch Leafminer, Japanese Beetle, etc... Under this law, officials from the Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets may inspect nursery stock in the possession of licensed dealer's, as they may deem necessary. No person may legally sell live plants in the state of Vermont without a nursery dealer's license.

In 2010, there were changes made to the nursery law, including the introduction of a nursery licensing/inspection fee. The fee is either \$30 or \$60, depending on the size of your nursery operation. Details of the law and the relevant changes may be viewed at:

http://www.leg.state.vt.us/docs/2010/Acts/ACT144.pdf, which describes the fee schedule and to whom the changes apply.

Please familiarize yourself with the list of new and emerging plant pests of concern to nurseries (*visit: http://www.vermontagriculture.com/ARMES/plantindustry/index.html for list*). This list was generated based on both the economic and ecological threats presented by these species based on their distribution, host species, life histories and potential to become established in Vermont. Help us keep these pests out of Vermont, if you see signs of these pests in your area please notify us at the Agency of Agriculture immediately.

As a reminder, a certificate of inspection stating that the plants are free of Hemlock Woolly Adelgid must accompany all shipments of hemlock into Vermont. Imports of hemlock are prohibited from those areas where this insect is established (including areas of AK, CT, DE, GA, MD, MA, NH, NJ, NY, NC, OR, PA, RI, SC, TN, VA, WA, WV, the District of Columbia, and the Canadian Province of British Columbia). Receiving nurseries failing to comply with this requirement may be subject to administrative action and monetary penalties. (*visit:*

<u>http://www.vermontagriculture.com/ARMES/plantindustry/PlantandPestQuarantines.html</u> for quarantine information).

Please return the Nursery Dealer's License application to:

Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets Business Office/ L&R 116 State Street Montpelier, VT 05620-2901

Part II of the application is only to be completed by nurseries/greenhouses that are actively growing plants in Vermont. This is necessary in order for the business to become certified and be issued a Certificate of Inspection by the Agency.

A certified nursery/greenhouse is then eligible to ship plants out of Vermont. This is necessary since plants entering all other states are required to be accompanied by a Certificate of Inspection issued by a state or federal agency, or face the possibility of destruction upon arrival in the receiving state.

If you have any questions concerning this application, please feel free to contact us at (802) 828-2431.