
Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets 
Business Office / L&R 
116 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05620-2901 

(802)828-2426 

For Office Use Only 

 
License No: ______________ 

Date Rec’d: ______________ 

Fee Rec’d:  ______________ 

 

 
APPLICATION FOR MEAT HANDLING OR SLAUGHTERHOUSE OPERATION 

 

Business Name and Mailing Address: Telephone No.:    
 

   Contact Person:    
 

   E-mail:    
Physical Location of Business: (if different than mailing address) 

 
 

This license application is for a license to operate as a slaughterhouse or meat handling establishment, and for the premises to 
be used by applicant and the operation thereof. The licensee must comply with provisions pursuant to Vermont Meat and 
Poultry Inspection Law, Title 6, Chapter 204 and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder. This is an Equal 
Opportunity Program. If you believe you have been discriminated against because of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, 
age or handicap, write immediately to the Secretary of Agriculture or the Administrator, FSIS, Washington, DC 20250. Please 
complete the application and return the signed form with payment. Licenses are annual and expire on December 3 1 each year. 
Please make checks payable to "Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets" and mail with this application to the 
address at the top of this form. 

 

PLEASE CHECK THE LICENSE(S) YOU ARE APPLYING FOR AND SEND $150.00 FOR EACH 
 

□ 4-D Handler □ Custom Slaughterhouse □ Renderer 

□ Animal Food Manufacturer □ Federal Commercial Packing Plant □ State Commercial Packing Plant 

□ Broker, Meat or Poultry Products □ Federal Commercial Poultry Slaughterhouse □ State Commercial Poultry Slaughterhouse 
 
□ Custom Packing Plant 

 
□ Federal Commercial Slaughterhouse 

 
□ State Commercial Slaughterhouse 

 
□ Custom Poultry Slaughterhouse 

 
□ Public Warehouse Operator 

 
□ Wholesale Meat or Poultry Distributor 

 
READ THIS SECTION PRIOR TO SIGNING APPLICATION FORM 

By signing This License You Certify That You Are In Good Standing with the Requirements Below. 
If You Certify Falsely That You Are In Good Standing You May Be Subject To Prosecution. 

 
By law (15 V.S.A. Section 795), the State may not renew a license for trade or business unless the licensee first certifies t hat he 
or she is in good standing with any order to pay child support. 

 
By law (32 V.S.A. Sec. 3113), the State may not renew a license for business or trade unless the licensee certifies, under the 
pains and penalties of perjury, that he/she is in good standing with the Department of Taxes. The maximum penalties for 
perjury are fifteen (15) years in prison, a $10,000 fine or both. 

 
Good standing means:  - that no taxes are due; 

- the liability is on appeal; 
- the licensee is complying with a State authorized payment plan; or 

- the immediate payment would cause unreasonable hardship. (If you are claiming 
hardship, please contact the licensing agency for further information.) 

For further information the licensee should contact the Department of Taxes at (802) 828-2518. 
 

I hereby certify that the above information is correct, that I am in good standing with respect to any obligation for child 
support, and that under the pains and penalties of perjury that I am in good standing with respect to all taxes due to the State 
of Vermont. 

 

Date:     Signature:     



If applicant is a partnership: 

 
 

Full Name of All Partners 
 

Residence Address 

(Box-City-State) 

 

Age 

   

   

 

Is there a written partnership agreement?   Is liability limited?   If so, to what extent? 

Certificate of partnership required by Title 11, VSA Chapter 15, filed with Secretary of State and in the Town 

Clerk's Office in Town of  . 
 

If applicant is a corporation: 

 
 

Full Name of 
 

Resident Address 

(Box-City-State) 

 

Date of Taking Office 

President   

V. President   

Secretary   

Treasurer   

Directors   

 

In what State incorporated?  Date incorporated  Principal Office Address  If a 

foreign corporation are you authorized under Title 11, VSA Chapter 3 to do business in the State of Vermont? 

Date authorized  Give name and address of resident of this State upon whom service of process may be made 
 

INDIVIDUAL OR PARTNERSHIP ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

STATE OF VERMONT 

 
COUNTY OF..................,ss. 

AT......................in said County this.........day of 

......................, A.D. 19....,personally appeared.......... and he acknowledged the foregoing instrument by him sealed 

and subscribed to be his free act and deed. 

Before Me..................... 

Notary Public 
 

CORPORATE ACKNOWLEDGEMENT 

STATE OF VERMONT 

 
COUNTY OF..................,ss. 

AT......................in said County this.........day of 

......................, A.D. 19....,personally appeared.......... and he acknowledged the foregoing instrument by him sealed 

and subscribed to be his free act and deed. 

Before Me..................... 

Notary Public 


