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Vermont’s Hemp Program



2019

Hemp production by 

Vermont County 

• Just under 1,000 registered growers

• Just under 300 registered 

processors

• Over 9,000 acres registered



How many acres did you plant?

 220 of 227 answered this question

 Of those that responded, 85% planted less than 5 acres
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How Many Acres did you plant?



Did you have a buyer for your crop 

before you started growing?

 219 of 227 answered this (8 skipped)

Yes No
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Did you have a buyer for your crop before 
you started growing?



Do you have a buyer for your crop now 

(as of Nov 2019)?

 207 of 227 answered this (20 skipped)

Yes No Partial Unsure
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What is the greatest cost to your 

business?

 217 of 227 answered this (10 skipped)

Energy Equipment Labor Seed/Specialized
Inputs
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Vermont Hemp Program and Rules

 Standards and 
expectations 

 Consumer protection

 Support the industry

 Communication with 
law enforcement
 Testing, recordkeeping 

and reporting 
requirements

 Establish a common 
industry vocabulary



Vermont Hemp Program and  Rules

 Establishing the requirements 

for the registration of growers,  

processors of hemp and hemp-

infused products, certified 

labs

 Creating a Cannabis Quality 

Control Program

 Setting labelling guidelines 



2020 New Registration Fees
 $25 - For personal use grower registration.

 $100 - for food oil, grain and fiber production regardless of acres planted  

 $100 - Less than 0.5 acres planted or less than 500 pounds processed

 $500 - 0.5 to 9.9 acres planted or less than 10,000 pounds processed

 $1,000 - 10 to 50 acres planted or less than 50,000 pounds processed

 $3,000 - Greater than 50 acres or greater than 50,000 pounds 

Indoor cultivation (bringing crops to flower under lights)

 $1,000 - 500 Sq. ft or less 

 $2,000 - Greater than 500 Sq. ft.



Seed Crop



Who is a Processor?

• Trimming hemp that your grow for a finished product requires that you register as 

a processor.

• Drying a hemp crop that you did not grow requires that you register as a 

processor.  



Existing Regulatory Programs

 Seed Dealer /Nursery Dealer Programs

 Fire Safety Division- Processing activities

 Pesticide Program

 Seed Dealer Registration Program, S. 194

 Water Quality Program- Required Agricultural 
Practices

 Vermont Agricultural and Environmental Lab

 Water and Wastewater, Dept. of Environmental 
Conservation



CBD Crop



Pre-Harvest Sampling for Potency Compliance

 Samples must be taken during flower and not more than 28 days 
before harvest

 Samples must be taken from the top 2 inches of side arm flowers

 See pre-harvest S.O.P. on table for more details



Female and Male Hemp Plants 



What to Expect During an Inspection

 Inspector will take samples of hemp crops and hemp products for monitoring 
and research purposes

 Inspection of growing areas, facilities, machinery, equipment and records

 Registrants should have copy of their registration, certificates of analysis (CoA), 
and other records as required by Vermont hemp rules.



Testing Requirements

 FROM: Vermont Hemp Rule and the Cannabis QC Program (currently being drafted)

 Harvested crop- Potency (for THC, CBD, etc)

 Trim flower- potency, moisture content, microbiological

 Concentrated oils/ solids from extraction-

 potency, microbiological, heavy metals, pesticides

 Consumer infused products- edibles, tinctures

 Similar testing to concentrated products or verification of concentrate testing



Vermont Hemp Rules

Cannabis Quality Control Program

 Testing for potency (including product labeling)

HPLC (most common test) - identifies acids

Ratio of CBD:THC

Total theoretical THC = (Delta-9 THC) + (THC-A x 0.877)

GC analysis will yield total values for CBD and THC

Genetic testing- researching with VAEL



Grinding 
Hemp 

Samples



Cannabis Potency Analysis using HPLC

Standard Compound List

d9-THC d9-Tetrahydrocannabinoid

d8-THC d8-Tetrahydrocannabinoid

THCA d9-Tetrahydrocannabinolic acid

THCV Tetrahydrocannabivarin

CBD Cannabidiol

CBDA Cannabidiolic acid

CBDV Cannabidivarin

CBG Cannabigerol

CBGA Cannabigerolic acid

CBN Cannabinol

CBC Cannabichromene

Click to view the Cannabis Alkaloids

https://www.ssi.shimadzu.com/sites/ssi.shimadzu.com/files/Products/Images/hplc/caAnalyzer_standard_compound_list.jpg


Cannabis Potency Analysis using HPLC

 Chromatogram

Standard (in black)

Cannabis sample 

(purple)

 UV detection



Certificate of Analysis (CoA) for Potency

Cannabinoids listed

Total THC and CBD reported

(Hemp sample)

Formula for calculations

Cannabinoid Profile % mg/g

Tetrahydrocannabinolic Acid (THCa) 0.561 5.61

Tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ9-THC) ND ND

Tetrahydrocannabinol (Δ8-THC) ND ND

Tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCv) ND ND

Cannabidiolic Acid (CBDa) 14.650 146.50

Cannabidiol (CBD) 0.196 1.96

Cannabidivarin (CBDv) ND ND

Cannabinol (CBN) ND ND

Cannabigerolic Acid (CBGa) 0.646 6.46

Cannabigerol (CBG) ND ND

Cannabichromene (CBC) 0.060 0.60

Total THC

TotalCBD

0.492%

13.044

4.923 mg/g

130.443

Total THC = THCa * 0.877 + Δ9-THC; 
Total CBD = CBDa * 0.877 + CBD



Vermont Hemp Rules Interpreting a COA

When total THC is not reported- calculating total THC 

 (<0.05% or 0%) + (0.15% x 0.877) = 0.13% Total theoretical THC 

 This is a compliant hemp harvest lot.  The delta-9 THC 
concentration is < 0.05% or (< 0.3%) and the total THC 
concentration is 0.13% (< 1%).  

 Make sure the results are reported in dry weight!     



Cannabis Extractions (Processing)



Vermont Hemp Rules

Cannabis Quality Control Program

 Testing for contaminants

Microbial- mold, fungus, bacteria, mycotoxins

Heavy Metals- not Metallica!   

Pesticides

Residual Solvents

The program is currently designing the criteria: 

When to test/ which tests/ parameters/ “action” levels



Hemp Plants Contaminated with Mold

 Hemp plants with obvious signs of mold must not enter commerce 



Vermont Hemp Rules

Cannabis Quality Control Program

 Indoor growing environments can make crops more susceptible to mold and 

pest infestations. Visually inspect your plants before harvest.  



Using a Certified Laboratory

 For a Certificate of Analysis (COA) to be official, 

it must be issued by a lab certified by the 

Vermont AAFM Hemp Program

 All other Certificates or Lab Reports are only

reports. These reports are good for :

Monitoring crop CBD and THC levels

Estimation of potency or contaminant levels



Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food & Markets 

AGR.Hemp@Vermont.gov

Stephanie Smith

Stephanie.Smith@Vermont.gov

Michael DiTomasso

Michael.DiTomasso@Vermont.gov

Robert Shipman

Robert.Shipman@Vermont.gov
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