
 
 

Applicant Name:     Business Name: 
Mailing Address:     Physical Address: 

City, State, Zip:     City, State, Zip: 
Contact Person:     E-Mail: 
Telephon e:    

 

AGENCY OF AGRICULTURE, FOOD & MARKETS  

APPLICATION FOR RETAIL LICENSE 
 

   

   

 
   

   
 

 
RETAIL – WEIGHTS & MEASURES DEVICES: No. of Units  Fee Schedule   Amount Paid 

(Check Explan at io ns Sheet for Definitions and Exemptions) 

 
Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s)    $15 per Meter 

 

Other Meter(s)    $15 per Meter           

(kero se ne , rope, etc.) 

Small Scale(s)    $10 per Scale 

(0 – 100 lb. capacity) 

Retail Price Scanning Point    $10 per Scanning Point [ ]    

(Exe m pt if 3 or fewer scanning points) 

10%  Device Late Fee (If Returned After April 30)      

RETAIL – COMMODITIES CHECK ALL 

(Check Explan at io ns Sheet for Definitions) THAT APPLY 

 
Class C Pesticides [ ] $20 per Store 

(flea collars, ant cups, OFF, etc.) 

Ice Cream & Frozen Dessert [ ] $70 per Store 

(soft serve ice cream, frozen confection, slushies, etc.) 

Milk [   ] $20 per Store                                                              

 

RETAIL – MEAT: 

(Check Explan at io ns Sheet for Definitions & Size Criteria) 

CHECK 

ONLY ONE 

 

Pre-Pa ck a ged Meat(s) ONLY 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[  ] $15 per Store                                                                                                           

  ______________ 

 

 Pre-Packaged Meats (includes Farmer’s 

Market(s)) 

 Meat Processing -Small 

Meat Processing - Small 

 

[    

 

 ] 
 

$30.00 (2 locations)                                                          

 
 

 

                               ____ 

Meat Processing-Small                                                                                                                       

Meat Processing - Large 

                                 [    

[ 

   ]        

 ] 

      $30.00 per Store                                                                                   

$60 per Store                                                               

    

Total Fee Enclosed 

Read and initial all statements and sign application. The application will be returned if all areas are not initialed or signed. 
Please Initial:     By signing this license, I hereby agree that I will comply with the applicable sections of the Vermont Weights and 

Measures Law regarding the operation of weighing and measuring devices. 

 
Please Initial:     I hereby certify that I am in good standing with respect to any obligations for child support and, under the pains and 

penalties of perjury, that I am in good standing with respect to or in full compliance with, a plan approved by the 

Commissioner of Taxes to pay any and all taxes due to the state of Vermont as of the date of this application. 
 
 

Date:     Signa tu re:     
 

Please remit payment to: VERMONT AGENCY OF AGRICULTURE, FOOD & MARKETS 

BUSINESS OFFICE/ L&R 

100 STATE STREET RM 342 

MONTPELIER VT 05620-3 2 0 6 
 
 

The State of Vermont is an Equal Opportunity / Affirmative Action Employer and Provider 



RETAIL LICENSE CATEGORIES – EXPLANATIONS SHEET 

 
Retail – Weights & Measures Devices 

 
Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s) 

  Do you have motor fuel dispenser meters (gas and/or diesel)? 

O If you own motor fuel dispenser meters, put the number under “Motor Fuel Dispenser Meter(s)” on the application and multiply 
               by $15 to determine the fee. There is no longer a motor fuel dispenser exemption.  

o If a distributor owns the meters, the distributor will receive the application and pay fees. 

 
Other Meter(s) 

  If you have other meters (kerosene, rope, etc.) put the number of meters under “Other Meter(s)” and multiply by $ 15 to determine 

the fee required. 

 
Small Scale(s) 

  If you have small scales, put the number of small scales (scales with a capacity of less than 100 pounds) that are used for direct 

sale (pre-pack scales are exempt) under “Small Scales” and multiply by $10 to determine the fee required. There is no longer a 

small scale exemption.  

 
Retail Price Scanning Point 

  If you are a single retail unit and have 3 or fewer scanning points (separate scanners) you are exempt from licensing. We still 

request you put the number under “Retail Price Scanning Point” and write “EXEMPT” on the Amount Paid line. 

  If you have more than 3 scanning points, put the number under “Retail Price Scanning Point” and multiply by $10 to determine 

the fee. 

 
Retail – Commodities 

 
Class “ C” Pesticide( s) 

  If you sell Class “C” pesticides (insect spray, flea collars, repellants, etc.) and do not hold a Class “A” or “B” license, c heck the 

box and include the fee of $20 per store. 

 
Ice Cream & Frozen Dessert 

  If you manufacture and sell your own ice cream or frozen dessert (crèmes, custard, ice milk, dairy products mix, yogurt, sher bet 

or frozen confection), check the box and include the fee of $70 per store. 

 
Milk 

  If you sell milk, check the box and include the fee of $20 per store. 

 
Retail – Meat 

 
Pre-Pa ck a ged Meat(s) (only) 

  Do you handle only pre-packaged meat and poultry products (this includes Slim Jims, hot dogs, bacon, etc., and home freezer 

sales)? 

  If YES, then check the box next to the “Pre-Packaged Meat(s) (only)” under this category and include the fee of $15 per store. 

  If NO, then continue below to the “Meat Processing” category. 

 

Farmer’s Markets 

 Do you want to sell prepackage meat products at one or more Farmer’s Markets? If YES check ‘X’ next to Pre-Packaged Meats 

(Farmer’s Market) This will issue two licenses, one for the location of the farm for products storage, and one to sell product at one 

or more Farmer’s market locations in the State. The total will be $30. 

 
Meat Processing 

  Do you process (i.e. cut meat or poultry), or package fresh meat and poultry products? 

o If the size of your meat cutting area is less than 300 square feet   OR the length of your meat display space is less than 20 

linear feet, the check the box next to “Meat Processing – Small” under this category and include the fee of $30 per store. 

o If the size of your meat cutting area is 300 square feet or greater   AND the length of your meat display space is 20 linear feet 

or greater, the check the box next to “Meat Processing – Large” under this category and include the fee of $60 per store. 
 
  Do you handle pre-packaged meats and have a meat cutting operation? 

o If YES, then only mark the application for your   Meat Processing operation. The handling of pre-packaged meats in a meat 

cutting operation is covered by this license, and therefore, you do not need to apply for both licenses. 


