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Effective February 2013 

Horses imported into Vermont for the purpose of exhibition may travel during Vermont’s Fair season on 
an Exhibition Permit.  The term “Exhibition” is defined in the Rules Governing the Importation of 
Domestic Animals, Including Livestock and Poultry as the following:  
 
Exhibition means any spectator event in which a domestic animal is exhibited or entered in 
competition and usually receive awards or prizes. 

The term “Exhibition Permit” is defined in the Rules in the following manner: 

Exhibition Permits: 

1. Persons transporting domestic animals into the state for exhibition or competition during 
the fair season may obtain an exhibition permit from the commissioner prior to entering. 
2. Animals listed on the Certificate of Veterinary Inspection will be exempt from the 
requirement for a new Certificate of Veterinary Inspection every 30 days for the 
duration of the exhibition permit. All tests listed on the Certificate of Veterinary 
Inspection must be kept current for the duration of the exhibition permit. 
3. Exhibition permits will expire in 180 days. 

To obtain an Exhibition Permit for horse importation into Vermont, complete the following steps: 
 

1. At the owner’s request, the licensed, accredited veterinarian must examine the horse(s) and fill 

out a standard health certificate or Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI), either in electronic 

or hard copy format, for the horse(s) traveling. 

a. If the horse originates from out of state and is attending only Vermont events, the 

destination/consignee address field on the health certificate must state: Vermont Shows 

and Fairs 2013. 

b. If the horse originates from out of state and is attending events across New England, the 

destination/consignee address field on the health certificate must state: “New England 

Shows and Fairs 2013”.  

 

2. After examining the horse and completing the CVI, the veterinarian must call the Vermont 

Agency of Agriculture at 802-828-2421 (between 7:45AM and 4:30PM, Monday-Friday) to 

request an exhibition permit number. When calling, the veterinarian must state they are 

requesting an exhibition permit.  This will ensure that the Agency’s Animal Health Office issues 

a permit that is good for 180 days. The veterinarian must also provide: 

a. The owner’s name and mailing address 

b. The number of horses traveling 

 

3. The exhibition permit number will be issued over the phone by the Agency. 

a. Please note:  The VT exhibition permit number only applies to importation into VT and 

does not permit importation of the horse into other states.  If the horse is also 

traveling to other New England state(s) during the same season, permit number(s) 
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may be needed from each of those other state(s). It is the responsibility of the owner 

and veterinarian to check with each state of destination to determine other states’ 

import requirements.  

4. The veterinarian must then write the number on the CVI. 

5. The veterinarian must then provide the animal owner with their copy of the CVI and forward 

other copies to their state agriculture office within one week as required by law. 

6. The Vermont Agency of Agriculture will mail the exhibition permit to the horse owner. 

7. The horse must travel with the CVI and the exhibition permit. 


